Mike Budenholzer coach of year, best record this year since 1980-81.

He led the Milwaukee Bucks to an NBA-best 60-22 record this year, and now Mike Budenholzer is being recognized by his peers for this accomplishment and other accolades.

The Red Tea Detox

According to the association, Budenholzer was named the 2019 recipient of the Michael H. Goldberg NBCA Coach of the Year honors.

“Mike Budenholzer in his first year as head coach of the Bucks, led the franchise to the top record in the entire NBA. Congratulations to Bud on this prestigious recognition,” Dallas Mavericks coach and National Basketball Coaches Association President Rick Carlisle said in a statement released Saturday.

READ  Latke Recipes | POPSUGAR Meals

Milwaukee posted its best record this year since 1980-81, the last time the Bucks had 60 wins in the regular season. Budenholzer also led the Bucks to their first divisional title since the 2000-2001 season. Per the release, the Bucks were the only team to rank in the top four in both offensive and defensive rating, finishing the regular season with the best net rating in the league with +9.0.

READ  Report: Makeup Remover Wipes For Sensitive Skin

Budenholzer thanked his colleagues and teammates in the same release, and highlighted notable figures who helped him reach this milestone.

“It is an incredible honor to be recognized by your peers, and that makes this award truly special,” the 49-year-old coach said. “Thank you to my colleagues across the NBA, and most importantly thank you to our players and staff in Milwaukee. The players’ and staffs’ work this year has given our team and our fans a very special season.”

He continued: “Michael H. Goldberg was a mentor and a friend to me for many years as he helped me grow to this moment. My staff and I are grateful for all he and the NBA Coaches Association have done and continue to do for coaches in the NBA.”

READ  How to economize this Christmas with out being a Grinch

This honor is separate from the NBA’s coach of the year award. That winner will be announced at the NBA Awards Show in Los Angeles on June 24. Previous recipients of this award include Miami Heat coach Erik Spoelstra and Detroit Pistons boss Dwane Casey.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here